She has an empty nest

family 2015

Of course, I am kidding with what I am about to state, and please know that we are very proud and happy for our daughters as they experience their path in life, but I have said it before, and I’ll say it again, who ever came up with the idea of giving your kids “wings” was STUPID!  When they say “Mommy, I’m going to live with you and Daddy when I grow up”, get it in writing.

Adjusting to life as empty nesters is the path my husband and I are traveling now.  I have noticed that our home seems rather large for just the two of us in addition to empty.  Our grocery bill is smaller as well as the laundry pile and for some reason the house stays cleaner longer.  It is quiet when I walk in the door from work and the dog has become my cooking companion. Dinner now may consist of appetizers on a patio at a local establishment while listening to live music or munching on popcorn while catching our favorite episodes on Netflix.

So, how are we doing?  Well, it depends on the day.  We think of them often and try to wait until they reach out to us for a connection but sometimes we just want to hear their voice.  Balancing giving them their space and being a little selfish with wanting to talk to them is something we are working on. It doesn’t matter how far they go, the fact remains that they are away.

Our adjustment is softened by two gifts. First, the girls are happy and working hard to get the most out of their college experience.  And, second, my husband and I have remained best friends.  We enjoy each others company and never seem to run out of things to talk about.  We seek out new events to take part in together and do our best to get involved in our community. If I have any advice, it would be just that.  Cherish the gifts you are given by life, take good care of them, and never loose sight of them.

I think I shall start posting a new dinner menu.  Perhaps a series of Dinner for Two. So, please join us on our journey and remember to cherish the gifts in your life along the way.

One thought on “She has an empty nest

Leave a Reply

