She is addicted to Buttermilk Syrup!

buttermilk syrupMy husband and I were traveling back from our daughter’s show choir concert and stopped by a little diner in northwest Iowa.  Well let me tell you, I discovered the BEST pancake syrup ever!  I had a lovely conversation with the cook and she agreed to share the recipe for my blog.  I asked her if I could post a pic of her in the diner and her response was, ” I would rather not have the publicity. I do what I do out of the love of cooking and sharing my dishes with the travelers and folks in this place I call home”.So, here is to you and your amazing diner Angie!  Keep on cookin’!

Angie’s Buttermilk Syrup (serves four unless you eat with me then it serves two)
Ingredients
  • ¾ cup buttermilk
  • 1 cup  sugar
  • ½ cup butter (1 stick)
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp vanilla
Instructions
  1. In a medium sauce pan, combine butter, sugar, and buttermilk and bring to a boil. After it comes to a rolling boil,  let it continue for 1 minute. Remove from heat and whisk in baking soda and vanilla. It will foam up.  No worries!  It is supposed to. Served warm.
Leave a Reply

