She was reminded!

I started this blog in hopes of documenting meaningful dishes/recipes for my daughters as well as bits of wisdom I have learned along the way through my travels and trials.  Well, several travels and many trials later, I am compelled to share with you what I have discovered. It’s nothing you probably haven’t heard before but it makes me feel good to write it down.  I discovered that when you come close to dying, you learn how to live.  What I have discovered is that when life becomes comfortable we forget.  We plan, we wait for the “right time”, we put off tomorrow what we could do today, we take ourselves far too seriously, and we forget.  We forget that tomorrow is not a guarantee.  I have discovered, and rediscovered because I forgot, that it takes a great amount of courage, energy, and focus to actually LIVE your life.  Some times you have to push aside responsibilities and take back your time, focus, and energy for those things that matter most.  What matters most?  Well, it is each other.  People matter most.  It sounds kind of funny to say this but not all people matter in your world.  Those that steal your courage, energy and focus, feel free to get rid of.  Those that give you courage, focus and energy, hold close and return the favor.  Believe in something bigger than yourself and have faith.  Don’t fool yourself into thinking that you actually control much of what happens in your life.  Take care of yourself.  I know for a fact that when you are faced with a serious situation that may not end well (to put it mildly) the best gift you can give yourself and those you love is to have no regrets.  Live your life so that when the time comes, you have no regrets. Easier said than done, I know.   I am going forward trying not to forget these things again.  So, here is to your health (and mine) and more good times ahead.

3 thoughts on “She was reminded!

Leave a Reply

