She isn’t letting her kids venture out either, so…

mom overreacting

 

I made the decision that it is not safe for my 17 year old to go outside in these temps so you all know where that placed me…on her $(&LJ$(* LIST.  School has been canceled across the Midwest but obviously MOM is OVERREACTING.  I have just the recipe to get me off THAT list and onto a better one (at least I hope so)!

Chicken Pad Thai

Ingredients

4 tablespoons soy sauce

3 tablespoons hoisin sauce

2 tablespoons splenda (my husband is diabetic so I try to cut out sugar when I can)

4 cloves garlic,  minced

2 tablespoons red wine vinegar

1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce 

 1 package rice noodles (7 oz)

3 tablespoons olive oil

1 lb. (approximately) chicken meat from rotisserie, rough chop

1 cup sliced yellow onion

 1/2 cup egg beaters

1/2 cup julienned carrot

1 cup bean sprouts

To Garnish:  cilantro, peanuts, lime wedges and green onion

Combine the soy sauce, hoisin, splenda, garlic, vinegar, and Worcestershire . Microwave 30 seconds 

Cook rice noodles according to directions.. Drain and rinse with cold water. Set aside.

In a large skillet, heat oil over medium high heat. Toss in carrots, bean sprouts, cooked noodles and sauce until all coated. Add the eggbeaters and stir to cook and coat.  At this point I added a bit of chicken stock to make more sauce. Cook another 2 minutes to heat veggies through. Serve with cilantro, lime wedges, peanuts and green onion.

 

Leave a Reply

