Diabetic Friendly Pizza… And it is ohhh so good!

cauliflower pizza crust pizzaOk, so don’t look at my face hanging out in the pic with no make up. Concentrate on the pizza. I was absolutely thrilled to find a pizza crust recipe that would satisfy my craving for pizza but not create problems for my husband who cannot tolerate carbs. I added a few tweaks and below is my recipe for pizza with a cauliflower crust. Hey now, don’t be doubting it with out trying it. You can’t really pick it up like a slice (although my husband did somehow) but it works with a fork and knife. I didn’t taste the cauliflower, just the wonderful ingredients I chose as toppings. Hope you enjoy!

Makes 4 individual pizzas or one cookie sheet sized pizza

Crust:
2 eggs
2 cups shredded cheese ( I have tried mozzarella once and Monterey jack twice with good results )
2 cups riced cauliflower (grate the raw cauliflower on a cheese grater or in a food processor)
2 tablespoons, minced garlic (I LOVE garlic but feel free to adjust this ingredient to taste)
1/4 cup fresh rough chopped basil
1 tablespoon Italian Season blend from All Spice in the East Village or Penzeys

Pizza Toppings:
1 zucchini, thinly sliced
1 yellow zucchini, thinly sliced
1/2 yellow onion, thinly sliced (
1 medium tomato thinly sliced at patted dry
1 cup sliced mushrooms
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 cup chopped fresh basil
Sliced fresh buffalo mozzarella

Pre-heat your oven to 450 degrees. Mix all the ingredients for the crust in a large bowl until well blended. The “dough” is a little wet.
Line a cookie sheet with parchment and spray with cooking spray. Press out the dough as you like either separating into smaller individual crusts or one large crust. I patted my crust thin using about half the dough to make two individual pizzas that fit on one cookie sheet. Place in the oven for 13 to 15 minutes. I prefer leaving mine in the full 15 minutes. While the crust bakes, I sautéed the onion and mushrooms in olive oil and garlic powder. Note: Crust can be delicate and may stick slightly to the parchment. I used a spatula when working with the cooked crust.
When the crust was done, I put a fresh parchment on the cookie sheet and sprayed again with cooking spray. Place the crust back on the sheet and add toppings. Return to the 450 degree oven for approximately 10 minutes or until cheese is bubbly and melted.
The above topping suggestion was my fist go at this pizza. Since then I have used the crust to make taco pizza and sausage pizza with tomato sauce. Love it!

Leave a Reply

