What did She have for Breakfast?… Galette!

Morning all!  After a VERY busy weekend, it is always nice to treat yourself to something that feels decadent.

Well, this weekend has been BUSY to say the least.  I poured my wee cup of tea this morning and sat in my kitchen enjoying the quiet wishing the house chef would appear and prepare something.  Well, since I happen to hold that title, I went to work.  I didn’t want to go to the grocery store and  I didn’t want to get out of my PJ’s.  That ment that I had to use whatever was within reach.  I looked at the bowl of fruit on the counter and it inspired the following recipe.  Enjoy!

PEAR and Mandarin Orange Galette

Ingredients

1 sheet puff pastry thawed

three pears rough cut

ten very small mandarin oranges peeled and sectioned

1 1/2 tablespoons corn starch

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1/4 cup brown sugar

Optional:  Egg wash: one egg beaten with 1 tablespoon cold water

Directions:

Line baking sheet with silpat or use parchment.  Preheat oven to 375.  On a well floured surface, roll out pastry to a size large enough to hold the fruit filling plus about a two inch border.  Place pastry on the baking sheet.  Combine fruit, corn starch, cinnamon, nutmeg and sugar.  Place in a single layer on pastry sheet.  Fold the 2 inch rim of dough over the edge of the fruit.  The pastry folds will overlap.  You may brush the edges with egg wash.  Place in oven and bake for 30 minutes until crust is golden and fruit is bubbly.

NOTE:  You can do this with any fruit.  With meatier fruits such as apples, I would slice them thin.

Some people like to brush the galette with jam after it comes out of the oven.  This is not my favorite as I think it masks the fruit taste but that is just my personal opinion.

 

Leave a Reply

