She’s up to delicate work.

Beautiful blossoms!

I don’t know why I get so excited about squash blossoms but I do. Whenever I see them I buy them up and invite friends and family over for some tasty treats and wine. I was lucky enough to pass a lovely elderly woman selling beautiful blossoms at her market stall. Tonight I fried up the blossoms while listening to my daughters practice with their opera coach. Sunday nights just don’t get better than that. I wish you all could be in my kitchen listening to this lovely music and sharing food and wine! After the girls were done, we all sat to table and devoured the blossoms. I love the look on people’s faces when they bite into these delicate treats. Oh so rich and yummy! It does take a bit of patience to stuff the blossoms as they are delicate. Below is the recipe for how I prepared them this evening. I hope you enjoy!

Squash blossoms (approximately two dozen)
2 packets boursin garlic and herb cheese at room temperature
2 cups panko bread crumbs
2 eggs beaten
2 cups of flour
vegetable oil (enough to create a depth of about 1/4 inch in your pan – I used a cast iron skillet)

Gently wipe down blossoms to remove any dirt or critters. I used my pampered chef frosting gun to fill the blossoms with cheese. You could also put the cheese in a plastic bag and cut off one corner. Put about 1/2 ounce boursin cheese into the middle of each blossom. Gently press the flower closed so that it molds to the cheese. I also twist the petals together slightly at the end. This prevents the cheese from leaking out. Dredge blossoms in flour and shake off excess. Dip the blossom into egg and then the panko. Repeat until all blossoms are coated. Heat oil over medium high heat and brown blossoms on all sides (about 4 minutes). Drain on a paper towel and serve immediately for best results. However, resist the temptation to dive in as the filling is VERY HOT. Let it cool slightly to avoid that annoying burn on the roof of your mouth. (You know … the one like you get when you bite into a slice of pizza)
Tip: I have also used goat cheese to stuff the blossoms.

NEW AND EXCITING FILLING FOR BLOSSOMS:
Today I went to our farmers market and was pleased to see the first crop of blossoms. Feeling the need to switch things up a bit, I decided to stop by our wonderful Cheese Shop to see what wonderful items they had that might pair well with the blossoms. SO…one heavy bag and a wad of cash later, I am pleased to report the following; try the above recipe and wrap each blossom in prosciutto before frying, try stuffing with face jam (bits from the face of a hog…YUM), pimento spread stuffing (delightful), blue cheese spread (stinky but good), and finally olive tapenade and ricotta. I LOVE blossom time!

Leave a Reply

