The Sauce

July's Tomato Haul

July’s Tomato Haul (Photo credit: statelyenglishmanor)

I love this time of year at the farmers market.  My favorite vendors were selling the less than perfect tomatoes in huge boxes for mere change!  I bought about 35 pounds of tomatoes at the market this morning for about $17.  As soon as we got home I set to work blanching and peeling the lot.  I put on my apron, some cookin’ music,  and my best “make it up as you go along” attitude and had an absolute blast turning these uglies into something beautiful!  At the end of the day, I ended up with about ten pints of a nice red sauce that can be used in a variety of ways.  So far we have used it over pasta, as a dipping sauce, and in eggplant parmesan.  I used the taste method when cooking the sauce.  I did not measure anything but I will try to estimate below:

Blanched tomatoes…as much as your little heart desires (stems and skin removed)

Four small fresh onions chopped

two medium sized yellow squash cubed

two medium sized zuchini cubed

7 to 10 cloves of garlic minced

3/4 cup good quality Italian Seasoning – Mine came from AllSpice in the East Village

1 large can (12 – 14 oz) tomato paste

Fine olive oil

fresh ground pepper

2 tbsp kosher salt

10 large basil leaves chopped

2 cups red wine (Tip:  If it is not good enough for you to drink, don’t put it in your food!)

In a large stock pot, heat about 1/2 cup olive oil over medium high heat.  Stir in chopped onion and garlic.  When onion becomes translucent, add the tomatoes.  I let them cook for a few minutes then attacked them with a potato masher and then ultimately with an immersion blender.  I left some tomatoes rough chopped in the sauce for texture. At this point I turned the heat to high to get a good boil going.  After this has reduced a little I stirred in the remaining ingredients.  Again, I used an immersion blender to break up some of the veggies leaving some rough chop for texture.  Turn the heat to a simmer and let the magic happen.  I cooked this batch all day long.    Enjoy!  Note:  You can put almost any veggies you have on hand into this sauce.  I am thinking it is a great way to “hide” some good nutrition.

3 thoughts on “The Sauce

  1. Pingback: “No Cook” Tomato and Basil Sauce | Jude The Foodie

Leave a Reply

